Domaine Calmel & Joseph
Domaine Calmel & Joseph is an old Languedoc farmhouse which appears for the first time in a deed of ownership in the name of Noble Jehan de Calmès – Lord of Saint Jullia on July 26, 1577. The farmhouse will bear several names during its history such as Borde Neuve or The Madonna.
In 1590 the village of Montirat was looted, burned and completely destroyed. “Borde Nove” was certainly badly damaged. It was only with the compoix of 1595 (cadastral and fiscal matrix) established after the restoration of peace, that agricultural activity resumed.
It is a classic farm of the time made up of about fifteen hectares where cereals are grown: mainly wheat but also oats, barley, rye and lentils; they also practice the cultivation of olive trees, livestock for wool and wood is made there. The culture of the vine will appear on the estate in the 16th century but only for family needs. Even today Roman ruins are hidden in the maquis of the estate…